Sunday, November 4, 2007

Getting the Most out of AdSense
Table of Contents

1. How AdSense changed my life forever

2. What is Google AdSense?

3. How to get an AdSense account on the first try

4. An AdSense vocabulary lesson

5. What it takes to earn big bucks with AdSense

6. Building cost effective AdSense sites

7. Getting traffic to your websites

8. Closing Comments

9. Earn money by giving this ebook away for free!


1. How AdSense Changed My Life Forever

Ok, so the title of this section is a really cheesy cliché, but it’s the truth and
I didn’t know how else to say it. Three years ago I was working as a
computer programmer. The workdays were long, the workweek seemed
endless, and the drive to work took an hour and fifteen minutes one way.
Just the drive alone cost me two and a half hours of my day. I was stressed
out, underpaid and sick of the office politics.

So I started dabbling in building a website. I started off with a free host,
and I tried everything I could think of to make money with it, with little
success. Then I discovered AdSense. The same traffic that was earning me
about $30 a month with banners and affiliate programs was suddenly
earning me $300 a month with AdSense! I was sold, and started to read
everything I could about what made AdSense work and how to make it work
better.

Six months later I quit my day job. Now I had the time to focus and work
full time at my AdSense business. In less than three months I was making
five times as much from AdSense as I had been making as a computer
programmer–and if you know anything about computer programmers, their
pay ain’t at the bottom of the scale! That was two years ago.

Getting the Most out of AdSense

These days I wake up between 9 and 10 a.m., when everybody else is at
work slaving away for “the man”. I read a little and take a leisurely hot bath
before going to Starbucks for a stiff grande mocha. Only then do I go back
home and get to work on my computer. My schedule is my own, and my life
is my own. Even if AdSense went away tomorrow, I would never go back to
the lifestyle I had before. I’ve learned so much about the way things can
and should be along the road to my success. This ebook will help you get
there too, without the learning curve I had.


2. What is Google AdSense?

If you are already familiar with AdSense and already have an account and a
website, you can probably skip this section. However, if you’ve heard about
this “Google AdSense thing” and aren’t sure exactly how it works or how to
make money with it, then this section is for you.

Let me start with a little history lesson. Don’t worry, it’s not too boring. :)
Before Google developed the AdSense program, a person or business that
owned a website had four basic ways they could make money with the site:

1. They could sell their own products on the site.
2. They could sell other people’s products on the site.
3. They could sell banner ads to other companies.
4. They could show banner ads from one of the advertising networks.

The first method made the most money, and is still a very common way of
making money online. But it was (and is) the most difficult way to make
money on the web. You had to create a good product that people will want
to buy, and you had to support that product either via email or on the phone
(or both). You had to be able to handle refunds and affiliates (salespeople).
You can’t make everybody happy all of the time, either, so you had to grow


a thick skin and not get angry when you read the occasional “this guy and
his product sucks!” post on a forum somewhere. You had to advertise your
product and compete with other people who have similar products. It’s
doable (I know because I do it), and the rewards are great, but it takes a lot
of time and a lot of work.

Number two was easier than number one because you were just an affiliate,
or salesperson. You sold the product but you didn’t handle the refunds, you
didn’t do the support, and you didn’t have to worry about what people said
about you (because who complains about the salesperson?). There was still
a lot of work involved though, because you had to pre-sell your visitors and
learn to write convincing “why you should buy this product” articles. And
you never knew if all of that work would flop because the product just didn’t
sell well, or worse–the company who created the product went out of
business (it happens)!

Number three, selling banner ads on your site, required almost as much
work as number one, because you had to seek out advertisers and handle
their needs and setup scripts to track views and clicks and reporting and it
was just a big hassle.
Number four was the easiest, because all you had to do was drop some code
from the advertising network onto your website and the network would


select ads to show and pay you for showing them. It was easy, but the pay
just stunk unless you had a huge volume of traffic.

Google Adwords Launches the AdSense Revolution

Enter Google AdWords. AdWords are those little ads you see on the right
hand side of the search results when you do a search at Google.com.
Advertisers pay to have their ads shown when people search for the
keywords they want to target. So, for example, if somebody is selling
synthetic engine oil, they would tell Google to show their ad when somebody
searched for “engine oil” or “synthetic engine oil” or other similar keywords.
And they choose how much they are willing to pay every time somebody
clicks on their ad.

AdWords literally exploded a vendor’s ability to sell their products online,
and it quickly grew into a huge money maker for Google. Google wanted to
find more ways to earn money from these advertisers, and they came up
with a brilliant idea: AdSense.

Google said, ‘hey, we’re a search engine, we know how to figure out what a
web page is all about, so why not figure out what a page is about and show
ads related to that page content?’ That’s what AdSense does. Now, instead
of the “synthetic engine oil” vendor only having his ad show on the Google


search results, he could have his ad show up on websites that were about
engine oil or car maintenance or whatever else the advertiser wanted to
target. Every time somebody clicks on one of those ads, the webmaster
whose site the ad is on gets paid a percentage of the click value, and Google
keeps the rest.

This was a huge boon to the small time website publisher. Before AdSense
they just didn’t get enough traffic to sell ad space or for the big networks to
let them in. A lot of the webmasters still had day jobs, so they couldn’t
exactly get into the product creation and selling business, and the didn’t
have the time or money to try their hand at affiliate marketing either. Now
with AdSense they could put up a content site about their chosen subjects
and actually get paid to write about it!

It didn’t take long for webmasters the world over to catch on. There was no
selling, no customer support, no maintenance, no hassle. You didn’t even
have to select which ads to display because Google figured that out for you!
That’s what makes AdSense so wonderful: you can focus on the content of
your sites and on getting people to your sites, and let AdSense take care of
creating your paycheck for you. It’s so easy to do, and it pays well in tiny
markets where you couldn’t get paid before, like with small hobby sites.


Large publishers with thousands or millions of pages spread across dozens
or hundreds of sites were made instantly wealthy due to the program.

AdSense In A Nutshell

So that’s AdSense in a nutshell: you drop some javascript code on your web
pages, Google figures out what ads to show, and when people click on those
ads you earn money. Once a month Google will either send you a check or
make a direct deposit into your bank account for the money that you earned
in the month prior (as long as you’ve earned at least $100). So, for
example, if you earn $1,000 in January, toward the end of February you will
get paid your $1,000. Toward the end of March you will get paid for
February’s clicks, etc.

But you can’t earn a dime without an AdSense account, can you? If you
don’t already have an AdSense account, the next section will tell how to go
about getting one–even if you don’t already have a website.


3. How to Get an AdSense Account on the First Try

If you don’t already have an AdSense account, you can apply for one at:
http://www.google.com/adsense/


Just click the big “Click here to Apply” button and you’ll be taken through an
application process. You will need to already have a decent looking
website to get an account.

Yes, that’s right. If you don’t have a website, don’t apply for an account yet.
Or if your website is a personal home page or doesn’t look very professional,
don’t apply yet–you’ll probably be rejected. There is a way to almost always
get an AdSense account on the first try, and it’s easy to do. Here are the
steps:

Step 1: Setup a blog at Blogger.com

Google doesn’t usually accept free websites into their AdSense program.
The exception to that rule are Blogger.com blogs. So if you don’t have a
website yet or have one that isn’t very professional, but you want to get an
AdSense account and get started, go to Blogger and create a blog on the
topic you want to make money with. Choosing the best money-making
topics is covered in a later section, so you might want to hold off on doing
this until you’ve read that section.

Step 2: Make some well thought-out posts on your new blog

Twice a day for three days go to your new blog and write a good,
informative post. If your blog is about model airplanes, you might discuss
some of the best tools for building the airplanes, or which companies create
the best quality models, etc. If your blog is about health insurance you
might make posts about how to get the best insurance rates, the pros and
cons of HMOs, or whatever other topics you can think of on the subject.

Get a good five or six posts on the blog over a period of three or four days,
and then go apply for an AdSense account using your new blog url as the
website you submit on the application.

Google loves to hand out AdSense accounts for Blogger blogs, and they will
almost always accept a decent blog publisher into the program.

Here’s the beautiful part: Once you have an AdSense account, you can
put your AdSense code on any of your websites without Google having to
approve each one. The only exceptions are adult or gambling related sites.
Google doesn’t allow those into the program, so do not put your AdSense
code on sites like that–it could get you kicked out of the program.

Once you have an account, it’s time to start building sites and making
money! But before we get into that, there’s a little vocabulary that you’ll
need to know to understand what your AdSense reports are telling you.
That’s covered in the next section.

4. An AdSense Vocabulary Lesson

If you’ve visited any forums where people discuss AdSense, you’ll see all
kinds of abbreviations and hear all kinds of terms that you might not
understand. Also, when you login to your AdSense account for the first time
and look at the reports, you’ll see a number of abbreviations as well. Here’s
a list of the most common ones, and a plain-english description of what they
mean:

Page Impressions

When somebody goes to your website and loads a page in their web
browser, Google counts that as one “page impression”. That means one pair
of eyes has seen one page of your site. If that same person browses around
and looks at 10 pages of your site, Google counts that as 10 page
impressions. So basically a page impression is just how many of your pages
were looked at by people.

Page CTR

CTR stands for “click through rate”. It’s expressed as a percentage of the
page impressions that resulted in somebody clicking one of the AdSense
ads. So, for example, if you had 1,000 page impressions, and those 1,000
page impressions resulted in 100 clicks on the ads, that is a 10% Page CTR
(100/1000 = 10%).

Page eCPM

eCPM stands for “effective cost per millie”. “Millie” means thousand. CPM is
what the old world of banner advertisements used in pricing their ads. If a
site had a $10 CPM, that meant that you as an advertiser would pay $10 for
every 1,000 page impressions that your ad was shown on.
With AdSense, eCPM is telling you how much you are earning (or will earn),
on average, for every 1,000 page impressions. If you have a $25 eCPM,
that means you are earning (or will earn) $25 in clicks for every 1,000 page
impressions on your site.

Google shows you this figure so you can get an idea of how much more they
are paying you than a banner advertising network will pay you. I have some
sites with eCPM values as high as $300, $500, $700 and more. That means
for every 1,000 page impressions I’m earning $300-$700 on those sites.
How I do that will be discussed later.

EPC

You won’t see the term EPC in your Google AdSense reports, but you’ll hear
it a lot if you hang out on AdSense forums. EPC stands for “earnings per
click”, and just means how much you earn for each click.

Channels

By default, all of your page impressions and clicks are dropped into one
giant bucket. By default, you have no way of knowing how much each
individual site earned (if you have multiple sites), or how much each
individual page earned, etc. “Channels” are Google’s way of letting you
break down your earnings into “sections” so you can analyze each website
or each page independently to see where the money is coming from. Google
only lets you have 200 channels, which is pretty lousy if you have a lot of
sites or a very large site. I’ll discuss how to get around that in a later
section.

AdLinks (or Ad Units)

AdLinks, or Ad Units, are just another type of AdSense ad. The basic
AdSense ad is a block of links with short descriptions that when a visitor
clicks, you get paid. Ad Links are a little different. They show linked topics
that are related to your page, and when people click on those they are then
taken to a different page and presented with a list of ads. If they decide to
click on one of those ads, you get paid. You can see what AdLinks look like
by visiting Google’s “Ad Formats” page. It shows all of the available ad
formats, including Ad Links:

https://www.google.com/adsense/adformats

Ad Filter

Sometimes Google might decide to show ads on your page that aren’t really
related to your page content at all. When that happens, you have the option
of going into your AdSense account and adding those sites to your Ad Filter.
Google will not show ads from any site that you put in your Ad Filter. Also,
if your competitor’s ads show up on your pages, that’s another reason to use
your Ad Filter.

Alright, Enough Vocabulary!
Enough with the vocabulary lesson! Let’s get down to business and see how
the AdSense Big Dogs earn the big bucks.

5. What it Takes to Earn Big Bucks with AdSense

The general idea of Google AdSense is very, very simple: drop some code on
your web pages and when people click the ads, you make money.
But there are a number of important questions to ask when building sites so
that you earn the most money for your time and effort. The most important
of those questions are:

1. How do I design a site so that will get the most clicks?
2. What topics are the most valuable and will earn me the most money?
3. How can I track the results of my efforts to see where I can expand
and improve?

Those are the big questions. And there are good answers to those
questions! Let’s discuss each one, one step at a time:

1. Designing a Site to Get the Most Clicks

Site design is very important in the quest to earn money with AdSense. If
you put the wrong kinds of ads up, or put them in the wrong place on the
page, you might get some clicks, but you will earn a lot less than if you
know the best way to format your AdSense ads and follow it. I’ll give you a
general idea of how to do this, but for precise details about how to exactly
layout your website to maximize revenue, read my ebook “Triple Your
AdSense CTR In Three Easy Steps”, which is available in my AdSense Gold
package.

When designing your site, you want to put the ads where they will be seen
and clicked the most. This is usually toward the top of the page. The ads
should definitely be visible when the page first opens. Don’t hide them away
on the sides or at the bottom of the page.

Secondly, you should make the ads blend in with the site so that they don’t
look like ads. This means making the colors of the ads match the colors of
your site. People have become “blind” to advertisements since they are so
used to seeing them on websites, so you have to get those ads in front of
them without them realizing they are ads. Then, instead of outright ignoring
the ads, they can look at what the ads are offering and make a conscious
decision of whether or not to click. When they do choose to click, you get
paid.

2. Selecting the Most Valuable Topics

It’s pretty obvious that some advertisements are worth more than others.
People spend millions of dollars for a 30 second commercial during the
Super Bowl (and other huge sporting events) because that ad space is so
valuable. But they will only pay a fraction of that for their ad to be shown
during a regular television show. The same is true with AdWords advertisers.
For advertisers, certain keywords are worth a lot more than others.

Sometimes this might be counter-intuitive. For example, you might think
that the keywords “sports cars” would be very valuable because sports cars
are very expensive. But among the group of people searching for “sports
cars” are a lot of people who just want to see pictures of sports cars, or
people who just have an interest in sports cars but aren’t looking to buy
one.

On the other hand, people searching for “sports car insurance”–ah!–they are
looking to buy. I mean, who searches for “sports car insurance” for fun,
right? As it turns out the value of clicks for the terms “sports car insurance”
is almost seven times as much as the value of clicks for just “sports
cars”.

This means that it’s very important that you know what keywords to target
before you build content for your web pages. If you’re just building a hobby
site and AdSense is just there to pay for the web hosting or earn you a few
extra dollars a month that might not matter to you.

But if you’re looking to earn real money with AdSense, then you want to
build websites that are focused on the keywords that pay you the most
money when people click.

You can find out how much keywords are worth by setting up an AdWords
account and using the AdWords “Traffic Estimator Tool”. Here’s what it looks
like:

AdWords Traffic Estimator Tool

As you can see, this tool lets you enter some keywords, set the Max CPC
(cost per click), and select the language and the countries you want to see
the estimates for. Always use “100.00” as the Max CPC, because that tells
you the highest bids for the keywords, which is what you really want to
know. Once you’ve entered the information, you click “Continue”. The
results for this particular set of information at this particular time are shown
below:

AdWords Traffic Estimator Tool Results

Notice that “sports car insurance” has a value of $12.81 per click, versus
only $1.86 for “sports cars”–like I said, “sports car insurance” is worth
almost seven times more. So before putting up pages and websites, you
can run the keywords you’re thinking of building content for through this
tool and see if your idea of what pays best is correct or not.

But I’m warning you, using this method is like shooting in the dark.
As I mentioned before, what you think should be high paying and what
actually is high paying are often very different. The best way to quickly find
out what the real high paying keywords are is to get a list of keywords that
have already been run through the Traffic Estimator and were found to have
a high cost per click (CPC) value.

The best list of high paying keywords and their AdWords CPC values right
now is available from KeywordExplosion.com. At the time of this writing, it
contains a searchable database of almost 2 and a half million keywords
along with their CPC values and the number of clicks they received per day.
I put countless hours of work into this list, and I updated it every month.
Knowing the number of clicks per day helps you know if people are
interested in those keywords. I mean, if a click is worth $25 dollars but you
only get two clicks a month, that’s not nearly as much as a $5 click that gets
repeated 100 times a month. Click counts matter!

3. Tracking Your Results for Improvement and Expansion

Ok, so you’ve got the right page design and you’re focusing on the high
paying topics. The last thing to do is to test, test, test! Test your websites,
find out which pages get the most clicks, which subjects are drawing the
most interest, and expand on those topics.

For example, let’s say you’ve setup a site on “Widgets”. The site has four
topics, “Red Widgets”, “Blue Widgets”, “Green Widgets” and “Black
Widgets”. Through testing you find out that “Blue Widgets” are by far the
most popular and are getting you the most clicks.

Knowing this, the next thing to do is expand the section of your website
devoted to Blue Widgets. Ad some articles or other content resources that
talk about the various facets of Blue Widgets. Of course, your AdSense ads
will be on every page. :)

Also, you need to track where your traffic is coming from, and which traffic
sources are getting you the most clicks. Are you getting a lot of traffic from
Google? Or Yahoo? Or MSN? Of the big three search engines, which one is
sending you the most clicks? Knowing this tells you where to focus your
efforts. If Google makes you the most money, you should focus your efforts
on ranking well in Google first. If it’s Yahoo or MSN, you focus on those
first.

My “Triple Your AdSense CTR in Three Easy Steps” ebook available from
AdSense Gold tells you exactly which search engine draws the most
clicks. And it’s not the one I’ll bet you’re thinking, either!

Unfortunately, Google’s AdSense reports are very limited. The Channels
help some, but they are cumbersome to implement and are limited to only
200. If you have more than 200 pages and you want to track every page–
forget it.

Also, Google does not tell you where your traffic is coming from, or which
traffic sources are resulting in the most clicks. There are huge holes in their
reporting, and they don’t seem to care about filling those holes.

That’s where third party tracking scripts come in. AdSense Gold comes with
the AdSense Tracker, which with one little piece of javascript put on each of
your web pages tells you a HUGE amount of data about your traffic and
clicks. It tells you how many clicks you’re getting on each of your sites and
on each of the pages on those sites. It tells you where your traffic is coming
from, and how well that traffic is converting into clicks. It tells you what
search keywords people are typing into the search engines to find your site,
and how well those search terms convert to clicks.

I designed the AdSense Tracker myself to fill the holes of Google’s reports.
Since I’m an AdSense Publisher and I have hundreds of sites, I know exactly
what kind of information is needed.

AdSense Tracker offers a lot more than just what I’m mentioning here. You
can view a live online demo at the AdSense Gold website, or you can watch
a short web video that tells you about some of its powerful features by
clicking here.

Putting it All Together

By discovering the answers to the three questions covered above, it didn’t
take me long before AdSense let me quit my day job as a computer
programmer and start working for myself–it only took about six months.
And I didn’t know any of what I’m teaching you in this ebook when I started
out. You’re six steps ahead of me just because you’re reading this ebook!
Design your sites to maximize clicks, build your content around the highest
paying topics using Keyword Explosion, and track your results and traffic
sources with AdSense Tracker. That’s what it takes. Repeat that process
over and over and you’re on your way to becoming an AdSense Big Dog
yourself!


6. Building Cost Effective AdSense Site

One thing that makes AdSense different from other businesses such as
creating and selling your own products online is that it requires a lot more
websites with a lot more content. Your AdSense money comes from having
a lot of pages in the search engines, with a lot of links to those pages. Lots
of visitors means lots of clicks, and that means lots of content on lots of
websites.

If this sounds expensive, it can be–but it doesn’t have to be. I’m going to
discuss two resources that are available to keep your costs down and your
profits up. They are:

1. Creating blogs
2. Affordable web hosting
3. Creating a lot of content


Creating Blogs

If your budget is really tight, you can always start off by creating
Blogger.com blogs and putting AdSense on them. You can promote those
blogs and get clicks and not have to pay monthly fees for hosting. Blogger
blogs can be formatted using the best formats show in my “Triple Your
AdSense CTR In Three Easy Steps” ebook at the AdSense Gold website, so
they’re great for generating AdSense revenue.

I have a number of Blogger blogs from my early days of AdSense site
creation. And dangit, I just love the interface. It’s simple and easy to use.
You don’t have to know any HTML code, their templates look great, and a
respectable blog is easy to get people to link to.

So if you’re just starting out and don’t have the money for hosting fees, a
Blogger blog is the way to go. Once you start earning some AdSense
money, then you can start expanding into paid hosting. I’ll discuss how to
get traffic to your blogs (and your websites) in a later section.
Affordable Web Hosting
You may already have a little money to invest, or maybe you’ve grown your
Blogger blogs to make enough money to pay for web hosting. The next step
is to move to paid hosting.

Paid hosting gives you a lot of freedom and abilities that blogs simply do
not. The ability to run scripts (such as forums or the AdSense Tracker), to
have your own domain name (ie., www.mydomain.com), to have an email
address like myemail@mydomain.com instead of
myemail@somefreehost.com, and a whole lot more.

I remember back in the day when web hosting was expensive. For a nofrills
site you would pay $50 a month! These days websites can still be
expensive if you select the wrong ones. Worse than that, they can have
really cumbersome interfaces that are hard to use and make even the
simplest tasks a chore. And some of the biggest web hosts have the most
horrible interfaces! So don’t let size alone influence your decision.

When I first created the AdSense Gold website, I started researching which
hosts offered a lot of great features at an affordable price. Of all of the ones
I looked at, AQHost.com was the one I chose–and I have not regretted it!
For $7 a month with AQHost.com, I got a 500MB website with 5GB of data
transfer (plenty for your first AdSense site), email accounts, and a huge
number of easy-to-install scripts like Blogs and Forums. AQHost.com
supported the latest PHP and MySQL technology I needed to run my
AdSense Tracker software as well. In fact, the AdSense Tracker demo is still
running on one of their servers.

Equally importantly was the support. I know my support guy by name–
Simon. His response times have been fantastic, and as the AQHost.com

business has grown and expanded and even changed location, there has
been very little down time, and all the way Simon has been informative,
supportive and helpful.

I can’t emphasize how important it is for you to choose a quality host. Don’t
just look at price. Look at technology and support. When your site is down,
you make no AdSense money! So you want a solid host with solid features.
Whatever host you choose, make sure they support all of the latest web
technologies. The ones that I think are absolutely critical to any AdSense
business are:

1. FTP
2. POP mail
3. PHP
4. MySQL
5. Cpanel
6. Fantastico

Even if you don’t know what those are, before you get a host email them the
above list and make sure that they support all six before you buy. You may
not need them today, but you will need them as your business grows, and
for $7 a month why settle for less?

One final note: make sure that the host you get will allow you to upgrade so
that you can have multiple websites under the same account. AQHost.com
has accounts that go all the way to 50 websites for about $50 a month.
That’s $1 a month per website. And 50 websites can make you hundreds of
times the hosting charges in AdSense money if done right.

The Website Content Fast Track–Free Articles

When first starting out with AdSense you don’t need a lot of money, but if
you’re creating all of the content for your website, you will need a lot of
time. Now, I highly recommend creating websites with your own content if
you have the time and ability to do so. Write you own articles and post
them to your site. That ensures that your site will have uniqueness and
staying power. People will link to it and it will grow and prosper.
But when you’re first starting out, it helps to get a kick-start by using other
people’s content. Is that plagiarism? Not at all. In fact, the authors of this
free content want you to use it on your websites. They encourage you to do
so! Why?

Here’s how it works: these authors write these articles and submit them to
free article sites where you can go and copy the articles to put on your own
site. The articles contain an “About the Author” section which you are
required to keep in the article. That section points to the author’s website.
If a few hundred or a few thousand other websites have this article on their
site, imagine how much traffic that will bring to the author’s site as people
click the link in the “About the Author” section!

Another benefit to the author is that his site gains link popularity. I’ll tell
you more about why that’s so important in the section on getting traffic to
your website. But for now, just know that it is very important.
The benefit to you of using these articles is that you get content for your
website without having to write it yourself! It takes time to gather up all of
these articles for your site, which is why I include thousands of free articles
in my AdSense Gold package so you don’t have to go dig them up.
Search Engines and Duplicate Content

It’s important to note that other sites are using these articles, and the
search engines don’t like what they call “duplicate content”–that is, the
same information appearing on a bunch of different sites.
To prevent the search engines from seeing your article pages as duplicate
content, all you have to do is put between 30% and 40% of unique content
on the page in addition to the article. This means your site’s header and
footer, and some extra related information.

RSS feeds are great for this. In case you don’t know, an RSS feed is just a
list of short articles or posts or summaries of content that appears on
another web site. It’s a kind of “snapshot” of what’s new at a website or
blog. With the great proliferation of blogs these days, and with almost every
blog having an RSS feed, the world is your oyster in terms of extra content
for your pages!

It’s easy to find RSS feeds to use on your sites. Personally, I like MSN’s RSS
feed search. Just go to search.msn.com and search for “feed:[keywords]”.
For example, if your site is about internet marketing, then search at MSN for
“feed:internet marketing” (no quotes). Many of the RSS feeds allow you to
republish them on your site. Find some that do and copy/paste those feeds
onto the pages of your website. That way the pages are unique in the eyes
of the search engines and your pages don’t suffer from the “duplicate
content penalty”.


Putting it All Together

If you don’t have the money to pay for hosting, or if you just want to make
a little money from AdSense before spending any, then Blogger.com blogs
are the way to go. The downside is you can’t use third party scripts like the
powerful AdSense Tracker in the AdSense Gold package.

Once you graduate from Blogger.com to paid hosting, then be sure to find a
great host that supports all of the features and technologies outlined above.
Great support is key. The host I recommend is AQHost.com. They have
always been very, very good to me and I’ve hosted several sites with them
before I finally graduated to my own dedicated servers.

Finally, I recommend you write a lot of unique content yourself, but to get
yourself started, use free articles from article submission sites, or use the
thousands of free articles that come with the AdSense Gold package. Be
sure to make the pages unique using RSS feeds or other content.

Of course, a website won’t make you a dime if nobody ever sees it! So the
next section will deal with how to get traffic to your websites so you can
start making some real AdSense money!


7. Getting Traffic to Your Websites

The formula for AdSense discussed so far is pretty simple: the right page
layout + high paying topics + great tracking = AdSense profits! But there’s
one piece missing from that formula. That piece is traffic. After all, if
there’s nobody coming to your site to click the ads, you won’t earn anything.
The best way to get traffic to your sites is to have your sites rank well in the
search engines for the keywords that your pages are targeting. There are a
number of techniques you can use to do this. The steps I use to accomplish
this are:

1. Research the Keywords
2. Analyze the Competition
3. On Page Optimization
4. Get Lots of Links to the Pages


I’m not going to write about those four steps in this ebook, because I’ve
already written an entire ebook that is dedicated to teaching you how to do
all four of those things with ease. It’s called “AdSense SEO Made Easy”, and
you can download it here for free.


8. Closing Comments

So there you have it, the basics of starting a profitable AdSense business.
You are now six steps ahead of where I was when I first started. When I
created my first website I didn’t know what layout worked best for AdSense.
I didn’t know that some keywords paid huge amounts more than others. I
didn’t know I could get free content to kick-start my AdSense earnings, and
I had no clue about what search engine optimization was or how to make it
work for me.

Despite that I was still able to quit my job as a computer programmer in
about six months. It took a lot of dedication and learning, but it paid off
handsomely!

In conclusion, I strongly recommend that you take a close look at the
products and services mentioned in this ebook. They make up what I still
use to create profitable AdSense websites:

1. AdSense Gold

Learn exactly how to layout your pages, which keywords pay the
most, get lots of free content to use, and incredible statistical
reporting with the AdSense Tracker.

2. Keyword Explosion

An enormous, searchable database of almost 2.5 million high paying
keywords and over 17,000 high paying markets.

3. AQHost

Simply the best shared hosting provider I’ve ever used.


9. Earn Money by Giving this Ebook Away For Free!

How can you earn money by giving something away for free, you ask? It’s
simple. The links to AdSense Gold and Keyword Explosion in this ebook are
affiliate links. That means that whoever sent you to the AdSense Gold
website or to the direct download page for this ebook will earn money when
you buy either of those products by clicking on any of those links.

You can earn money too, by giving this ebook away to your website visitors,
your email list, or whoever else you can think of. All you need is an account
from ClickBank.com. Once you have an account, simply send people to the
AdSense Gold website using this affiliate link:

http://YourClickBankUsername.astracker.hop.clickbank.net/

When somebody signs up there to receive the free ebook, your ClickBank
affiliate links will automatically be placed in their copy of the ebook. When
they buy through those links, you get commissions.
Alternatively you can send people directly to the free ebook download page
at:
http://www.adsensegold.com/adsensebook.php?hop=YourClickBankUsername


Be sure to replace “YourClickBankUsername” with your own ClickBank
username or you will not get credit when somebody buys the products.
There is no better way to sell products than through a valuable, informative
ebook with affiliate links to those products. Start earning money today by
giving this ebook away for free.